RSA Communities on Vancouver Island


The Rural Practice Subsidiary Agreement between the B.C. Government, Doctors of BC and the Medical Services Commission aims to enhance patient care and availability of physician services in rural and remote areas of B.C., by addressing unique and challenging clinical circumstances encountered by rural physicians.


RSA Criteria

Community eligibility for the Rural Practice Subsidiary Agreement is determined by evaluating its level of isolation. The following criteria are used to complete this evaluation:

  • Number of designated specialties within 70 km
  • Number of general practitioners within 35 km
  • Community size
  • Distance from major medical community
  • Degree of latitude
  • Specialist Centre
  • Location arc

Each of these criteria are applied to the community independently of one another and a set number of points are awarded to the community. These points (based on a 5 year rolling average) are then used to assign the community to one of four categories:

  • 20 or more points: “A” community
  • Between 15 and 19.99 points: “B” community
  • Between 1.5 and 14.99 points: “C” community
  • Between 0.1 and 1.49 points: “D” community
The category assignment for each community determines eligibility for support through Rural Practice Programs.
RSA Communities, Designations, SCCs and RCME contacts

The category assignment for each community determines eligibility for support through Rural Practice Programs.

The Service Clarification Code (SCC) for the community in which the service has been provided must be indicated on all billings submitted by the physician in order to receive rural fee premiums.

For Rural Retention Program (RRP) points, fee premium percentages, and flat fee amounts for each community, please visit this page.

For information about Island Health’s Rural Continuing Medical Education (RCME) Community Program, visit here.

Community Community Designation  

Service Clarification
Code (SCC)



RCME Physician


Ahousat / Hesquiaht First Nation A A4  
Alert Bay / Namgis First Nation A A1 Dr. Jessica Macleod
Bamfield A B8  
Campbell River / Campbell River Indian Band (Wei Wai Kum) / Dzawada'enuxw First Nation / Homalco First Nation C CR Dr. Duncan Douglas
Chemainus / Halalt First Nation / Lyackson First Nation C CM Dr. Tannis Morris
Cobble Hill C CE Dr. Paul Harris
Cortes Island / Klahoose First Nation A C4 Dr. Jenna Creaser
Courtenay / Comox / Cumberland / K'ómoks First Nation C CC Dr. Kevin Swanson
Denman Island C D2 Dr. Ron Wilson
Duncan / N. Cowichan / Cowichan Band C D4 Dr. Glenn Robinson
Gabriola Island C G7 Dr. Erin Cusack
Galiano Island B G5 Dr. Erin Carlson
Gilford Island / Kwikwasut’inuxw Haxwa’mis A GK  
Gold River / Mowachaht-Muchalaht First A G2 Dr. Matthew Ness
Holberg A H2  
Hornby Island A H5 Dr. Laura Chalfin
Hot Springs Cove A H7  
Kingcome (Dzawada'enuxw First Nation) A K6  
Kyuquot A K7  
Ladysmith C L4 Dr. Vivan Kilvert
Lake Cowichan / Lake Cowichan First Nation C L5  
Lasqueti Island A L8  
Mayne Island B M7 Dr. Juliana Losier
Mill Bay C MB  
Nitinat / Ditidaht First Nation C N4  
Parksville / Qualicum / Qualicum First Nation C PQ Dr. David Owen
Pender Island B P8 Dr. Bruce Rebner
Penelakut Island C PI  
Port Alberni C PA Dr. Greg de Pape
Port Alice A P2 Dr. Jessica MacLeod
Port Hardy / Gwa'sala-Nakwazda'xw / Kwakiutl First Nation (Kwakwaka'wakw) / Tlatlasikwala First Nation A P3 Dr. Jessica MacLeod
Port McNeill A P4 Dr. Jessica MacLeod
Port Renfrew / Pacheedaht First Nation A PN  
Quadra Island / Cape Mudge Indian Band C Q1 Dr. Steve Hughes
Quatsino A Q4  
Saltspring Island C SS Dr. Peter Verheul
Saturna Island B S7  
Sayward A S1  
Shawnigan Lake C SL Dr. Meghan Chabot
Sointula A S6  
Tahsis A T2  
Tofino /Tla-O-Qui-Aht First Nations A T4 Dr. Luke Williston
Ucluelet / Toquaht Nation / Ucluetlet First Nation (Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ) A U1 Dr. Luke Williston
Woss A W1  
Zeballos / Ehattesaht First Nation / Nuchatlaht Indian Band A Z1  


This webpage is under construction as part of a new initiative for Rural Physician Support. We welcome your feedback and thank you for visiting this page. Please contact Rural Programs’ Liaison, with questions and suggestions.